'Todd Martin Youth Leadership'
Arthur Ashe Essay Contest
'For every hour spent on the playing field, two should be spent with a book.'
Arthur Ashe      
National Junior Tennis & Learning (NJTL), founded by Arthur Ashe, sponsors an annual essay competition. Young players write about a selected topic reflecting Ashe's commitment to leadership development and academic excellence. Todd Martin Youth Leadership winners of the Arthur Ashe Writing Award have been:
  • Matthew de LaFe in 2014
  • Anthony Davis and Ethan Phillips in 2013
  • Anthony Davis, Rebecca Hurth, Joseph Crowley in 2012
  • Lauren Moreau in 2010
  • Shubhi Kwatra, Joseph Crowley, Lauren Moreau in 2009
  • Daniel Mammah in 2008
  • Kristen Wolfolk and Lauren Moreau in 2007
  • Garrison Thompson and Lauren Moreau in 2006

2016 Arthur Ashe Essay Contest information: